FinalFourLongR Documentation

NCAA Final Four by Seed (Long Version through 2010)


NCAA Final Four by seed with individual cases for each team each year


A data frame with 2048 observations on the following 3 variables.

Year Year (1979 - 2010)
Seed Seed in NCAA men's basketball tournament: 1 to 16
Final4 1=made Final Four or 0=did not make Final Four


Each year 64 college teams are selected for the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball tournament, with 16 teams placed in each of four regions. Within each region the teams are seeded from 1 to 16, with the (presumed) best team as the 1 seed and the (presumed) weakest team as the 16 seed; this practice of seeding teams began in 1979 for the NCAA tournament. Only one team from each region (so four teams each year) advances to the Final Four. This dataset has a row (case) for each team in the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball tournament from 1979 to 2010 along with its seed and an indicator for whether the team made the Final Four that year.

Updated to FinalFourLong17 in second edition.


Final Four teams and their seed can be found at